Executive Committee Members

The following individuals are the executive committee members of the IBPSA Canada – BC Chapter and are elected annually by the membership:

Chapter Chair
Susan MacDougall, P.Eng., LEED AP BD+C, CPHC
Principal, Focal Engineering

SusanHSusan is a leader in the field of energy modelling in British Columbia. She is a mechanical engineer and project manager with nearly 15 years of experience and a passion for sustainability, which has been her career focus. She founded Focal Engineering in 2015.

Susan is an avid supporter of diversity in engineering, energy modelling and sustainability initiatives, and volunteers at several organizations including as an elected Councillor (2016-2018) for Engineers and Geoscientists BC. Susan has served on the BC Chapter of IBPSA Canada Executive Committee since it began, and has served as External Communications Director (2013-2014)  as Chapter Chair (2015-2018).

Chapter Co-Chair
Eoghan Hayes, P.Eng., BEMP, LEED AP BD+C
Edge Consultants
Eoghan Hayes, P. Eng., is a mechanical and electrical engineer and experienced energy modeller with a passion for enhancing building design to reduce utility costs, carbon and maintenance and make projects become renewable utility assets to owners.
Eoghan’s work has included mechanical and energy modelling design for new construction and existing buildings, in addition to managing million-dollar geo-exchange new and energy upgrade energy retrofit projects.
Some of Eoghan’s career highlights completing the full mechanical design and energy modelling the first living building challenge building in Vancouver, VanDusen Gardens. Designing and energy modelling the first LEED platinum high-rise office tower in Burnaby, Metrotower 3. And energy modeling and designing the province first geo-exchange retrofit of an existing building, 777 Dunsmuir (KPMG Building).

Eoghan previously served on the IBPSA Canada BC Chapter Executive Committee as External Communications Director from 2015-2017.

Joseph B. Chow, P.Eng.
Associate, Norman Disney & Young

Joseph is the Chief Energy Modeler for Norman Disney & Young. His work includes mechanical design, whole building simulation for code / certification / design purposes, and various kinds of analysis for HVAC flow and ventilation. His experience spans commercial, residential, and industrial projects across Canada both new construction and heritage. He enjoys learning from and educating others about energy modelling and HVAC design. Joseph enjoys spending time with his family and also volunteers for the International Students Club and Strathcona Outreach Ministry.

Brian Ward, P.Eng., LEED AP BD+C
Design Engineer, Rocky Point Engineering Ltd.

Education Team
Riley Beise, P.Eng., BEMP, CPHD
Principal, Focal Engineering


Riley Beise is an experienced building performance simulator with over eight years of experience working as an energy modeling and building energy specialist. In addition to working with common building types, Riley has experience modeling complex specialty building types including healthcare, nuclear research, aquatics, ice arenas, greenhouse, laboratory, food production, and more. In addition to general energy modeling work for performance programs such as LEED, he has experience applying building performance simulation to specific engineering analysis for natural ventilation, CFD (computational fluid dynamics) airflow studies, occupant thermal comfort, and day-lighting. Other non-simulation work includes retrofit studies for existing buildings.

Riley is a really tall dude with a beard (most of the time). He is a super nerd and likes riding motorcycles and drinking beer. 

Education Team
Eric Catania, M.Eng., BEMP
Energy and Sustainability Analyst, RDH Building Science Inc.

EricCEric has over 8 years of energy modelling experience. He specializes in the simulation and evaluation of energy efficiency measures for new construction projects and has experience conducting energy audits and assessing existing buildings for retrofit potential. He has simulation experience with various modelling tools/services, including eQuest, EE4, EnergyPlus, and IES-VE and has worked on a variety of different building types, including hospitals, office buildings, laboratories, residential buildings and recreational facilities.



We wish to thank the previous Executive Committee members for their contributions since our chapter started in 2015:

  • Bojan Andjelkovic (Chapter Chair, 2013-2014)
  • Alex Blue ( Treasurer, 2013-2017)
  • Christian Cianfrone ( Education Team, 2013-2014)
  • Eric Rubli (Secretary, 2013)
  • Martina Soderlund ( Secretary, 2014)
  • Cheney Chen (Education Team, 2015-2017)
  • Kevin Leung (Education Team, 2015-2017)
  • Ali Nazari ( Secretary, 2015-2017)